feijoa tart

I have a recipe for peach clafoutis that is just screaming to be made with feijoas but then I found this recipe for a feijoa tart that looks easily as delicious.

It comes from another gorgeous blog (there so many talented people out there) called Tiny Happy. The author Melissa is wonderfully inspirational with fabrics and needlework and other creative crafts. All mixed up with heavenly creations from her kitchen.

As she states, it is an any-kind-of-fruit-tart but right now it really has to be feijoa, doesn’t it?

FEIJOA TART

Ingredients

  • 2 large eggs
  • 150g white sugar
  • 100g butter
  • 150 ml milk
  • 175g flour
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • enough sliced fruit to cover the surface of the tart

Method

  1. Whisk the eggs and sugar until thick and creamy. Put butter and milk into a saucepan and stir until just boiling. Remove from heat. Sift flour and baking powder into the egg mixture, then pour in the milk mixture. Fold all the ingredients together until smooth.
  2. Pour into a flat dish lined with baking paper. Arrange the sliced fruit over the top. Sprinkle over a little raw sugar or sliced almonds if you like.
  3. Bake at 180°C for 20-30 mins.

6 thoughts on “feijoa tart

  1. this feijoa tart sounds yummy, I love feijoas! Off to a dinner tomorrow nignt and I have been asked to bring desert, going to try this one

  2. Just made this with the help of my girls with fresh feijoa from the park.
    Demolished it in a few minutes! Delicious…. Will make again and again! :)

    1. Has to be good if it’s gone in minutes! Thanks for the great comment – we used to get ours from the park over the back when I was a girl. Such great memories. I’m making a tart tomorrow, either this one or a variation, still undecided.

      1. My girls love collecting and eating them… Much to the horror of the tree owners i imagine!
        They really aren’t desert or cake eaters but this was a huge hit!
        I thought it would need some spice or some other ingredient to make this interesting… But the feijoa is perfect.
        Just a dollop of cream!

    1. So many more wonderful recipes out there and plenty in my head too. Thanks for stopping by… I hope by next season I’ll be able to create some give-aways for visitors.

Leave a comment