biggest feijoa in the world

For some lighthearted fun, I’m starting a hunt for the largest feijoa this coming season (an annual kind of season – as I would like both hemispheres to take part.) So far, 423g is the heaviest I have seen recorded (in New Zealand, of course – see below) so let’s see if feijoas can get bigger than that.

I am doing this in memory of my grandfather, Mick, who was frequently in the local paper with photos of his giant runner beans, taller than a child. There is something about supersized fruit and vegies that is eternally joyful, and I don’t know about you but I could do with more joy right now.

At the moment, there are no plans for an actual prize other than global fame.

Rules: Use all the fertiliser and sheep poo that you can. Categories will account for length, circumference and weight. Tape measures, rulers and scales will be appreciated to verify claims. (I’m making this up as I go along, so more info will be added.)

I don’t have permissions yet to post any photos of super-massive feijoas found so far, but New Zealand is all over this with articles in regional and national newspapers every season. Just Google NZ + massive or monster or giant + feijoas.

Oh and doubles are cheating – just so you know.

Massive, giant, monster, whopper, behemoth, gargantuan, chonk

RECORD SETTERS

To set the benchmark, here is proof of a 423g feijoa:
Pukekohe, New Zealand / 22 May 2020
https://www.tvnz.co.nz/one-news/new-zealand/young-auckland-feijoa-hunters-believe-they-have-record-their-hands-423g-whopper

But… this article about White Goose Orchards in Awakeri (NZ) somewhat casually mentions that Back in the late 1960s, a feijoa tree in Opotiki produced fruit weighing 450 grams.
https://thisnzlife.co.nz/white-goose-wines-feijoas-fruit-wine-and-a-fertilizing-flock/

Leave a comment