in absentia

Kia ora. I feel a little like I am intruding, peeking back in here again. But also, hi and hello – I hope you are doing OK. My sweet child sidled up to me recently with his iPad and said, Mum, I’m looking at your website and you haven’t done anything for a while. The shame burned hot, but I was secretly in awe of his tact because “a while” is quite the euphemism for six plus years. Yes, it really has been that long.

black and white image of feijoas on a board

A lot of the things that got in the way are real things (like fruit fly-infested second rate fruit) and then there are all those other things we call “life” that have run interference. Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming. And so it turns out, here we are in the midst of a global pandemic which has turned things every which other way up for so many. Here in Queensland, Australia, the numbers of cases have been relatively low to date; but anxiety and uncertainty have still run high.

For those of you who have been waiting for something to happen – so patiently – and those who even forgot they had followed feijoa feijoa, I am about to post a little run in quick succession. You will notice a few changes, and some things will be broken or hidden until I figure out the flash new bells and whistles that have been added to the WordPress machine. Thank you dearly to my supporters, sending inspirational recipes and articles, and generally keeping the faith.

Aroha nui. Please stay safe in these challenging and somewhat extraordinary times.

Leave a comment