easy feijoa wine

A bucket and a hot water cupboard… this sounds like my kind of recipe!

I don’t think it can get more simple. Please, if you make this, please please come back and tell me how it goes.

This feijoa wine recipe comes from Lynda Hallinan, who appears on Television New Zealand’s Good Morning show. She’s also the editor of NZ Gardener. If you’re into gardening… she has a wonderful gardening blog called Lynda Hallinan.com.

EASY FEIJOA WINE

Ingredients

  • 5kg feijoas
  • 2 campden tablets (from home brew stores)
  • 8g sachet of wine yeast
  • 2 teaspoons yeast nutrients
  • 4kg sugar
  • 2L cold water

Method

  1. Scoop the flesh out of 5kg feijoas (discard skins) and freeze overnight.
  2. Thaw, squash and steep in a bucket with 6 litres boiling water and 2 campden tablets.
  3. Cover with a tea towel and stand for three days, stirring occasionally.
  4. Strain to remove the gritty, gooey flesh.
  5. Pour liquid into a fermenting vessel fitted with an airlock and add an 8g sachet of wine yeast, 2 teaspoons yeast nutrients, 4kg sugar and 2 litres cold water.
  6. Leave somewhere warm, such as your hot water cupboard, till it stops bubbling – which could take a month or several – then bottle.

9 thoughts on “easy feijoa wine

  1. I am just drinking this now. Came out VERY syrupy, so more like a liqueur. I think it’s too much sugar for the ratio of water.
    But, tastes lovely, and we are mixing it with mineral water.

  2. HI all.
    I have now played around with a couple of recopies but they all came out a bit rough.
    The Sulphur is def a requirement as is pectinase , but I thought I might play with the sugars
    last time I used Dextrose instead of Cane. It gave it a better overall taste.
    I may have addeda bit much in it. Reached 14.6% ( work in a brewery so easy to check). It was also as dry as can be. I back blended some Lactose into it for taste. Been cellering some now for 2 years, still great ( in my mind)

    1. Hey i wonder if you can help me. I am a first time brewer and have brewed a batch with 2kg fruit to 800grams of sugar making 5lt and has come out lovely light and very aromatic but quite dry. How am i best to sweeten to perhaps lift to more like a pinot gris or reising? would lactose be the best option and how much per 750ml bottle do you think?
      Thanks for your help! 🙂

  3. Has anyone ever doubled this recipe ? to make more wine at one time as I have a 20 litre container to make the wine in and lots of fejoas and would I have to double the Camden tablets along with all the rest of the recipe or would the original 2 tabs be sufficient.? I am trying to avoid any chemicals .Many Thanks Paula

  4. Hi Juliana,
    This recipe was given to me by a Kumeu gardener called Linda Isbister (credit where credit’s due). I’m drinking it tonight. I think it’s delicious – it’s certainly better than any other of my homemade wines.
    Lynda

    1. Thanks Lynda, that’s certainly high praise. I find the best recipes have always passed through many hands so it’s nice to know more about this one.

Leave a comment