feijoa walnut cake

FEIJOA WALNUT CAKE

Ingredients

  • 2 cups feijoas, peeled and roughly chopped (important to measure correctly – 2 cups when peeled and chopped)
  • 1 cup walnut pieces
  • 1 cup sultanas
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 100 grams melted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 teaspoons mixed spice
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda

Method

  1. Mix feijoas, walnuts, sultanas and sugar together in a large bowl.
  2. Beat egg and butter together and mix into feijoa mixture.
  3. Sift flour, mixed spice and baking soda and add to feijoa mixture. Stir lightly.
  4. Turn into well greased 25cm cake tin or deep ring tin.
  5. Bake 180ºC for 40-45 minutes or until skewer comes out clean.
  6. Cool in tin before turning out.

10 thoughts on “feijoa walnut cake

  1. Hi there, I made this recipe with our first ever crop of Feijoas (having moved to New Zealand 6 months ago). It was very tasty. Came out a little more like a sponge pudding than a cake when I made it – would have been just as nice with a scoop of ice cream and a spoon! I will try it again for sure.

    I have bookmarked the page to come back to in future, but I wonder if I could ask a favour? To save me having to recalculate the weights again next time, could you update the ingredients list thus:-

    2 cups / 300g Feijoas
    1 cup / 100g Walnut peices
    1 cup / 200g Sultanas
    1 cup / 200g Caster Sugar
    1 cup / 125g Plain flour

    I weighed them all out as I was making it, but I find cups hard to work with and prefer to weigh everything. With other American-style recipes I have republished them on my own blog in the past with the cups + weights, but I think it would be better to keep all the Feijoa stuff here on your site.

    Thanks for a wonderful site, I shall be back here plenty more times as our Feijoas fall.

    Cheers
    Morag

    1. Thanks Morag, lovely to hear you are enjoying the site. I am not here much anymore as you have spotted … but yes I can update the measurements. I work easily with both weight and volume so it never crossed my mind that others don’t.

  2. I made this cake and replaced the sultanas with regular raisins. For spices, I used nutmeg and cinnamon and the flavors just melded together with the feijoas. The cake was a ht at work. I have made this twice so far. A sure winner for the holidays.

    1. Oh my, that sounds good. I can’t make them all, so it’s great to hear back from the wider test kitchens about which recipes are fabulous.

      1. This one is worth doing Juliana. I have frozen bags of 2 cups of feijoas so that I can make it until the next lot fall from the trees! A sure winner.

  3. This cake has to be one of the best and tastiest and yummiest cakes I have ever cooked. Anyone who has a piece asks for the recipe. It is more like a muffin recipe but so easy. It beats all other feijoa recipes I have tried so far.

Leave a comment