feijoa & prune Indian relish

Astar is a host for Television New Zealand, who covers craft and foodie segments on the Good Morning show. Deep in the archives, I found a feijoa segment dating from 2008 which included this unusual recipe for a spicy Indian-style relish that features feijoas as the key ingredient.

FEIJOA & PRUNE INDIAN RELISH

Ingredients

  • 1kg feijoas – remove flower stalk and chop
  • 2 granny smith apples – chopped, leave skins on
  • 1 packet pitted prunes
  • ½ packet currants
  • ½ packet sugared ginger – finely chopped
  • 2 red onions – chopped
  • couple chopped garlic cloves
  • 1 tablespoon mustard seeds
  • 1 tablespoon grated ginger
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 kg sugar
  • 2 tablespoon molasses
  • 2 ½ cups malt vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon each cayenne pepper, all spice, mixed spice
  • ½ teaspoon five-spice

Method

  1. Bring all ingredients to the boil and simmer away about 1 hour.
  2. Cool then add 1 teaspoon citric acid.
  3. Store in clean screwtop jars.

8 thoughts on “feijoa & prune Indian relish

  1. This is the fifth year I have made this chutney. It is great taste and easy to make. Everyone enjoys it and many want recipe. Thank you

  2. After one hour of boiling on the stove, it is still runny. Should I boil until thick?
    Also prunes and currants come in various sizes – 200g up to 800. What size should I use please?

  3. This is a wonderful recipe and I’ve been making it for years BUT, how many ounces would you say constitutes “half a packet” please?

    1. I’m thinking of those sweet little packets of crystallized ginger before they got supersized… I think 125g / 4.4oz. Half that… or maybe “to taste”! If you’ve been making it for years you must have your own measurement to make it perfectly :)

      1. Yes, I’ve worked it out! I recently made over $400 selling jars of the chutney in aid of a winter bedding appeal for refugees in cold Canberra. Now I’m going to adapt the recipe to kiwi fruit – I don’t think it will be as good but let’s see.

        Best wishes

        Claudia

  4. Wonderful and spicy. I have received many positive comments from ‘spicy chutney connoisseurs’. This chutney will definitely be on my fav list.

Leave a comment