feijoa jam with vanilla and fresh ginger

I found this recipe on Facebook but it originates from the Viva section of the New Zealand Herald. After a lengthy browse through the recipe archives online, I can finally admit that Amanda Laird is rapidly becoming my favourite feijoa chef – her recipes are so fresh sounding and she makes such exquisite flavour pairings. I simply cannot wait to try this jam.

FEIJOA JAM WITH VANILLA AND FRESH GINGER

Makes approximately 3 x 350 jars

Ingredients

  • 1 kg feijoas (best if a little firm because the pectin level will be higher)
  • 4 cups sugar
  • 1 vanilla pod
  • 1 x 3cm piece of fresh ginger
  • 1/4 cup water
  • juice of 1 lemon

Method

  1. Peel and slice feijoas. Put into saucepan or preserving pan with the sugar.
  2. Slit the vanilla pod and scrape the seeds into the pan, add the pod.
  3. Peel and finely chip ginger and add with the water and lemon. Bring to a simmer and cook until the fruit is soft, then increase the temperature and boil for 10 minutes. Remove the vanilla pod, then pour into sterilised jars and seal.

7 thoughts on “feijoa jam with vanilla and fresh ginger

  1. How can 1/4 cup water make over 1 litre of finished product? I am just chopping up all the ingredients now but am questioning the water volume???

    1. This recipe is on the NZ Herald’s “Bite” pages, and no-one seems to be having problems with the water. Someone even left the water out… so it would be dependent on the liquidity of the fruit.

      1. I know why I was so confused initially. I was making different jelly recipes, which call for a lot more added water. This is jam, so totally different. This is the first time I have made jam. Turned out very tasty indeed.

  2. Went to Bilpin Springs Orchard in Sydney today (April 27) and was lucky to find Feijoas falling from trees available at $4 a kilo.

    1. I finally got feijoas today – happy days. Not enough for jam, not this year sadly, but at least I know where the recipes are!! Thanks for taking the time to let me know that this one is a good one.

Leave a comment