feijoa lime loaf

I found this recipe over at Helen Peters’ blog site on TypePad, but for some reason (as I attempt to post this) her page is now completely blank. This is my pet hate about the web – things move!! And recipes get lost just like that… Hopefully it’s just a temporary thing.

I have the link and will update if her page comes back. She has some photographs of this loaf and I have to admit that the crystallized lime and sugar glaze has my name written all over it. Sounds sensational.

FEIJOA LIME LOAF

Ingredients

  • 8 feijoas, peeled
  • 2 cups self raising flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

Method

  1. Slice the feijoas. Add to a pot with the boiling water, sugar, and butter. Bring to the boil and boil for 5 minutes.
  2. Cool. (Note: cool properly to avoid cooking your egg in the next step.)
  3. Add the egg, flour and baking soda and mix. Pour into a greased loaf tin and bake at 180º for 40-45 minutes or until the top springs back when touched and a knife inserted into the middle comes out clean.

Lime glaze

  • 1/3 cup caster sugar
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  1. Mix together the caster sugar and the lime juice.
  2. Drizzle over the still-warm loaf and allow to cool in the tin.

When you tip the loaf out there will be a thin crunchy sugar layer on the outside and the lime juice will have soaked in. Yummy.

2 thoughts on “feijoa lime loaf

  1. I made this cake yesterday and have to make another one today…between my dad, my kids & me it’s all gone!! It is yummy! However after having made feijoa muffins and finding them a little bland I decided to add an apple, cinnamon, mixed spice and grated the zest of a lime and oh boy was it great. Moist, tangy & delicious:)!

Leave a comment