feijoas & raspberries in baked cream

I made this for afternoon tea instead of dessert (does that make any sense, I wonder) and it was so good that my child rushed over to the neighbours and invited their children back for some. Thumbs up all round.

I intend to make another one this weekend and I’ll work on getting the fruit to feature. I sliced my feijoas into thirds and the blind baking wasn’t as firm as needed so they sank beneath the cream.

When I first tried it – with peaches and cherries – it was nice but a little egg-y for my tastes. This time though the feijoas and raspberries were fruity and tart enough to balance that out. But if you prefer a cake-type mix, rather than a custardy one, then other recipes might be more to your taste.

The recipe is adapted from one in a Donna Hay book I’ve had forever, Marie Claire cooking.

FEIJOAS & RASPBERRIES IN BAKED CREAM

Serves 6

Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • ⅓ cup sugar
  • 1 ⅓ cups cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 10 feijoas, peeled and sliced or scooped out halves
  • handful of frozen raspberries
  • 1 tablespoon demerara sugar

Method

  1. Place eggs, sugar, cream and vanilla extract in a bowl and beat until frothy. Sift flour over egg mixture and whisk until smooth.
  2. Pour ¾ cup cream mixture into a greased 23cm (9inch) pie dish. Bake in a preheated 160°C oven for 5 minutes or until cream is just set. Remove dish from oven and place feijoas and berries on baked cream.
  3. Pour remaining cream mixture over fruit, sprinkle with demerara sugar and bake for 15-20 minutes or until set.
  4. Serve in wedges with vanilla ice cream.

One thought on “feijoas & raspberries in baked cream

Leave a comment