feijoa curd

I only ever recall slathering lemon curd over toast etc as a child and I imagine that I would love a feijoa-flavoured spread of this kind just as much. This recipe comes from Group Recipes, another of those wonderful online communities where home cooks passionately share secrets of the kitchen and the table.

FEIJOA CURD

Ingredients

  • 500g feijoas
  • 2 eggs and 3 egg yolks
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 4oz/113g unsalted butter

Method

  1. Scoop out the flesh of the feijoas and blitz until smooth.
  2. Into a bowl and using a spatula, push the smooth feijoa flesh through a sieve. Remember to scrape the feijoa on the underside of the sieve into the bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl, beat together the eggs, yolks, and sugar.
  4. Over a low heat, melt the butter in a medium-sized saucepan. If you are increasing the quantity, you may want to use a wider pan in order to speed up the setting of the curd.
  5. Stir in the feijoa and the egg and sugar mixture.
  6. Whisk constantly over a low heat until it has come together and has thickened, almost like custard. This took me approximately 15 minutes. Do not stop whisking as you do not want to cook the eggs.
  7. Pour the curd into a bowl and cover once cooled. It can then be refrigerated or used immediately.

2 thoughts on “feijoa curd

  1. This was the only recipe out of ten feijoa recipes I got off internet and made in four days that I would not do again. I will be sticking to lemon curd any day for more flavour. Because it made more than I expected and didn’t seem as firm as lemon curd which I make many times, you cannot make a big tart as when cutting a slice it would fall away, and I used very big eggs, so it would be better for two bite size tarts only. It didn’t seem to have much sugar so I also wondered if it would preserve well so I have put it in the freezer in small amounts for mini tarts.

    1. Mmm, not much beats lemon curd. I wonder if it would be better with mix of feijoa and lemon (although I have no idea what the ideal combination would be) or if the flavour gets better over time. Thanks for letting us know though.

Leave a comment