feijoa jam

I found this recipe in the archives of the New Zealand Listener website, which hides a treasure trove of distinctively New Zealand flavours. This jam is created by popular food writer Lois Daish, but the page has other great suggestions to use up many other fruits of autum. Of course I am in the mood for feijoa and feijoa only. That’s just the way it is this time of year round here.

FEIJOA JAM

Ingredients

  • 500g under-ripe feijoas, weighed after peeling
  • 1⁄2 cup water
  • 500g sugar

Method

  1. Roughly slice the feijoas. Put in a pot with the water and simmer until very tender.
  2. Mash with a potato masher, then add the sugar and bring slowly to the boil.
  3. Boil hard for a few minutes until the last few drops dripped from a metal spoon start to set.
  4. Pour into 3 small sterilised jars.

4 thoughts on “feijoa jam

  1. I,m trying to work how much is 500 grams to a cup for feijoas and sugar 500 grams to a cup thanks I ;like u page very well set out

    1. Hi Kath, I hate conversions & have both scales and measuring cups to get things exact. I do know 1 cup of white sugar is 220g, so two and something cups; and this website explains why I only ever weigh fruit when making something like jam as the size you cut the fruit changes the ration of sugar to pectin in the fruit: http://www.livinghomegrown.com/canning-yields-vary/ If anyone making this recipe in future can provide the conversion, it would be much appreciated.

  2. Thanks to Lois Daish (I really miss her column in the Listener) – hers is the only recipe I could find that gives the vital information “weighed after peeling”. None of the other recipes I found said this, and I was thinking that the ratio of fruit to sugar would make the jam too sweet.
    You have a very attractive website – glad I found it.
    Regards,
    Judith

    1. The best written recipes leave nothing to chance, I totally agree. Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment. I hope this means you have loads of feijoas and you’re making jam!

Leave a comment