Tags

A friend dropped this recipe around to me the other day. It originally comes from the O-What-A Cookbook by the Owhata Women’s Hockey Club (Owhata is near Rotorua in New Zealand). Apparently it’s super quick and easy – and a firm favourite.

Like me, she is a Kiwi living in Australia and struggling to get hold of a bounty of feijoas. She laughed when I said I was planning a cooking holiday where I head back to New Zealand in feijoa season with the sole aim of cooking to my heart’s content. (Translate: eat feijoas to my heart’s content.)

But I am thinking seriously about it. I bought all of 16 feijoas this season before they disappeared (and my lovely wee boy ate more than half of them – he loves them too!) Then we skipped home for a very short break and my Dad’s little hedge was fruiting, he had bags of fruit given to him and roadside sellers had big bags for $3. In heaven, I say. Heaven.

Because the honest truth is that at $1.50-$2 a pop here in Australia, there will be no jam making.

Update: I’m enjoying this beautiful jam right now (autumn 2012) and we’ve added the Jamsetta (available from Woolworths) to the recipe as an extra precaution to aid setting. While feijoas are high in pectin, there is nothing as disheartening as jam that goes wrong. We’ve all been there, sadly, but if you are sure of your technique then feel free to leave it out.

FEIJOA JAM

Ingredients

  • 2.25 kg (5lb) feijoas
  • 2400 ml (4 pints) water
  • 2.7 kg (6lb) sugar
  • Jamsetta 50g sachet

Method

  1. Do not peel the feijoas. Cut into thin slices.
  2. Add the water to the feijoas.
  3. Cook until soft. Gradually add the sugar, stirring constantly. Add the Jamsetta if using.
  4. Carefully bring to the boil still stirring. Bring to a fast rolling boil until it sets when tested. Feijoa jam sets quickly so watch it carefully.
  5. Bottle.
